A Night Out with Vis-a-Vis

I have never been so scared to eat food in my life.

img_0397

I don’t know what I was thinking Sichuan hot pot was going to taste like. Sichuan province is notoriously known for having spicy foods so I guess I thought it was going to be as hot as the pits of hell. Turns out it’s not that bad, but hot enough that I couldn’t stomach much of it my first time eating it. It’s not so much the spiciness of the food, but the lack of other things to calm the heat. A Chinese staple is drinking hot water with your food. Hot food plus hot water (in a tiny glass) just creates an uncalled for sweaty situation. If you’re in luck, your friends will buy a liter or two of soda or sweet milk by the end of the meal, so you don’t look like as much of a baby as I did. By the end of the meal, I was nibbling on a piece of raw Chinese Watermelon to cool my throat down. I would not champion Sichuan Hot Pot that night, but I would have the chance to fight that battle many times in the near future.

Vis-a-Vis is such a huge organization compared to what I am used to in the states, so it’s so hard to get all of us together in the same room for long periods of time other than when we are working. It was nice to actually get to know my fellow members better and experience more Chinese food culture. Bonding over food here is really important and now it has become one of my favorite things to do.

Never wanting to let the party die, 小美 suggested that we all go out to KTV. I had my first karaoke experience on my 21st birthday back in the US at a Korean noraebang so I was really excited to see what it’s like in China! Even though the interior was…odd, it was just like any other karaoke room. They had so many songs to choose from and we spent almost four hours covering everything from Taylor Swift, Big Sean, to watching my friends sing old Chinese love songs only ayi’s listen to. Of course I had to sneak in BTS, even though I didn’t actually get to sing it. Next time, I’m making that the first song on the list!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Night Out with Vis-a-Vis

  1. Looks like you’re making friends for life. We miss you at New Generation and we’re so very proud of you. Nevertheless, be safe and enjoy your adventure. Let me know if you need anything by way of your Mom. Good Bless, Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

